New Japanese Garden Manual On The Way!

Posted on

Hello again,

As you may or may not know I already have a very comprehensive manual on Japanese Gardens- you can learn more about it at www.japzengardens.org– I am in the process of creating a new information manual on Japanese gardens. As a consequence I would love to know what you would like to read about, what information you would really find useful etc. Please leave me a comment and the first five people to do so will recieve a FREE copy of my new manual when it is finished!

So it’s up to you…what do you want to learn about? We know Japanese gardens are beautiful, serene, stunning, at one with nature but let’s expand our knowledge!

I look forward to hearing from you, and I will hold your details on my file so you get a FREE manual for your trouble!

Thanks a lot.

PS Tomorrow I will give you some information about ‘Stepping Stones’ in Japanese gardens- I have had a couple of requests. 

4 thoughts on “New Japanese Garden Manual On The Way!

    Frank said:
    June 5, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    I like your blog. It gave me some great ideas when I was at a stall point in planning the expansion of my garden. Thanks!

    Best of luck with your manual. I hope it is as thought provoking as your site.
    Regards,
    Frank

    japzen responded:
    June 5, 2007 at 3:05 pm

    Dear Frank,

    Thank you very much for your kind Comments, I am delighted that you find some of the contents of my Japanese Garden Blog inspiring! It’s what it’s all about! You will be getting a FREE copy of my new Japanese garden manual as promised. I will e mail you when it’s ready!

    Best Wishes
    Russell Chard- Editor Japzen.wordpress.com

    http://www.japzengardens.org

    Jack Smith said:
    June 20, 2007 at 10:02 pm

    japzen,

    I am glad you are coming out with a Japanese garden manual, but the thing I like most is that you are asking everyone what they would like to see in the manual. I have been trying to plan a small Japanese style garden in my backyard over the last year, while there is a lot of information on the web and in books, I did not find what I was looking for in a structured or planned format in one book.
    Here are some of the things that I was looking for but did not find information to my satisfaction.

    1) My yard is relatively small (which it is in most urban yards), I was not able to find anything that shows you how you can have a complete Japanese garden, albeit on a smaller scale, in a 20′ x 30′ or a 20′ x 20′ yard.
    2) Plants that would work in the Japanese garden that are region and zone specific. I would be lucky if I was able to find even a couple of plants listed in some books, but then they would not survive in my zone.
    3) Pruning in general and for pine and maples in particular.
    4) DIY instructions for simple water features etc.
    5) Pathways and gates (moon, etc)
    6) Color/structure/leaf structure combinations.
    7) Sound elements in the garden.
    8) Screening/use of bamboo etc.
    9) Seating/benches

    I will send you more stuff as they come up. Good luck with your manual and drop me a line when it is complete.

    Regards,
    Jack

    japzen responded:
    June 21, 2007 at 7:21 am

    Hi Jack,

    Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post exactly the sort of areas you would like me to cover in my new Japanese gardens manual. Excellent suggestions and many people have asked for information about pruning.

    Keep reading the blog and I will be in touch with you as requested once the new manual is complete- it will be comprehensive.

    Thanks for reading the blog Jack, spread the word!

    Don’t forget my first manual on Japanese gardens is available at http://www.japzengardens.org and it has a bonus on how to garden in small spaces too.

Leave a Reply

